Home » Gender » America’s first transgender suicide hotline is up and running

America’s first transgender suicide hotline is up and running

According to The National Transgender Discrimination Survey (NTDS), 41 percent of transgender individuals have attempted suicide. This is a shocking figure and is even higher among trans youth and trans individuals of multiracial backgrounds. In an effort to specifically address the mental health struggles of trans individuals, Trans Lifeline has created a national transgender suicide hotline.

The new hotline is staffed entirely by transgender people and dedicated to addressing and supporting members of the trans community in mental health crises. The hotline aims to provide mental health resources for anyone in need as well as a voice of empathy and understanding from fellow members of the trans community. 

The line is not yet open 24 hours a day, but it is available in the following 18 hour periods:

Pacific time: 8 am to 2 am

Mountain time: 9 am to 3 am

Central time: 10 am to 4 am

Eastern time: 11 am to 5 am

Although attitudes towards trans individuals are starting to improve in parts of the US, the trans community is still one of the most stigmatized in the US and around the world. The hotline numbers in the US and Canada are: 

US: (877) 565-8860 CANADA: (877) 330-6366

Solution News Source

SIGN UP

TO GET A Free DAILY DOSE OF OPTIMISM




We respect your privacy and take protecting it seriously. Privacy Policy